Thank you all

Message from Prof. Moon, the former EASP chair

The 7th East Asian Social Policy research network (EASP) international conference was held at Sogang University, Seoul, Korea from 20-21 Aug. 2010. Due to your warm attention and active participation, the conference was appraised as a great success. There were more than 100 presentations and more than 150 delegates. And the quality of papers has been improved year by year since the Bath conference. It is in this regard that we are fully confident that EASP has developed to be the centre of the development of East Asian social policy research. For more information about papers, please refer to our conference website ( You may browse abstracts by sessions and download full papers (if available) presented at the conference. (ID and passwords that we sent by e-mail are required to access full papers)

We would like to express our thanks for all the support you have shown to the conference regardless of whether you came to Seoul or not. We are also pleased to announce that the next EASP conferences will be held at Hong Kong in 2011 and at York (U.K) in 2012. Further details will be followed in due course through this emailing and the EASP website.

I personally express my thanks to committee members, particularly to the secretary Dr. Junko Yamashita and Prof. Jin Wook Kim and Dr. Bo Yung Kim amongst them, during my terms of chairmanship for the last two years. The two conferences (Sheffield and Seoul) would not have been possible had it not been for their full and excellent support. I am also very happy to let you know that my friend and excellent scholar, Prof. Ku from National Taiwan University will take chair of EASP with the support of Dr. Gyu-Jin Hwang from University of Sydney as a new secretary. I strongly believe that the next two conferences will be great success under the excellent leadership of Prof. Ku and Dr. Hwang.

We wish you all the best in your work and study and I look forward to seeing you all in Hong Kong next year.

28th of Aug. 2010

Prof. Jin Young Moon 
on behalf of EASP committee